Let’s get this blog going again in ’24

I spent most of last year writing blogs to post here but not finishing them. I had thoughts I wanted to share, but somewhere between word 100 and word 600 I would either talk myself out of whatever revelation it was or I would lose interest in making those thoughts presentable. My wife would tell me it’s probably undiagnosed ADHD. And she is usually right.

For example, I have a whole series of blog posts I want to write demystifying probability maths. It really isn’t that hard but so many people just assume that it’s beyond them. It’s hard to know where to start though. If I start with theory, no-one will read it. So I start with something which is easy to break down then? Hitting a target number with 1d6, 2d6 and 3d6? D20 with advantage and disadvantage? I should just write something, and then write something else and keep going until I have a nice selection where people can find what they are looking for. That’s probably more practical than expecting my readers to read a whole series of posts.

Other posts languishing, waiting for me to finish them are mostly me trying to get my game theory thoughts in order. How much of the fiction in our games actually needs defined? What do we use rules for? What do we use randomisers for? Just yesterday I tied myself in knots trying to explain that using simple binary rolls and making shit up as you go can end up being a much more accurate model of the reality of your fiction than any pre-built complex procedure. Is anyone interested in reading about how any RPG which expects the GM to come up with arbitrary target numbers for PC tasks is at best unfinished and likely creating a lot of pointless busy work for players?

All of which is to say that I have a lot to write, and I am hoping that writing this will break the block.

Leave a comment